Olson takes 1st in Hastings and Saturday’s results in Wrestling

(Pictured Maggie Olson with brother Michael Olson)

Hastings Girl’s Preview Tournament

Albert Lea’s Maggie Olson went 2-0 with 2 pins and took first place.  Head Coach Tyler Vogt “She wrestled very well. It is exciting to continue to find more opportunities for Girl’s wrestling, hopefully as this grows, we can recruit more girls in Albert Lea to wrestle.”


Dave Scharberg Memorial Tournament in Byron 

NRHEG Panther wrestlers were in Byron on Saturday, December 10, for the Dave Scharberg Memorial Tournament. NRHEG placed 6th of 6. Panther’s  dual meet scores were Rochester Mayo 59 – NRHEG 18, Westfield Razorbacks 54 – NRHEG 24, and Byron 51 – NRHEG 25.
Comments from Head Coach Shawn Larson:
Although our team lost three times today, our effort was much better than what we were putting out last week. Ryan Schlaak and Makota Misgen earned falls, as Annabelle Petsinger and Harbor Cromwell also won their matches against Rochester Mayo. In the match against Westfield, Aidan Schlaak, Ryan Schlaak, Jace Ihrke, and Makota Misgen all earned falls in their matches. Parker Bunn, Deven Parpart, and Makota Misgen earned falls against Byron as Annabelle Petsinger and Aidan Schlaak also had wins.
It was a big day again for Makota Misgen who remains unbeaten on the season. Along with earning three falls today, Makota has gone over the milestone of 50 career falls and now stands at 51 career falls. Annabelle Petsinger, Aidan Schlaak, and Ryan Schlaak all had good days as well, as each of them won 2 out of their 3 matches.
We will continue to focus on making improvements in several areas of our wrestling, but mostly our focus will be trying to reduce the bonus points earned against us.  When we are able to win more matches like today, and reduce the number of bonus points against us we will be competitive and may have a better chance to win.
Our next competition will be Thursday, December 15, in Wells where we will wrestle Maple River/USC, and Lake Crystal – Wellcome Memorial. After that, on Friday, Dec. 16 and Saturday, Dec. 17, we will travel to the Redwood Riot in Redwood Falls.
Bulldogs 5th at Emmetsburg, crown 3 champions
Story by Head Coach Alex Brandenberg
The Lake Mills wrestlers made the trip west to Emmetsburg Saturday and placed 5th out of the thirteen team field. “It was fun to travel in a direction we don’t go the rest of the season and wrestle many teams we don’t see,” said Coach Alex Brandenburg. “Like most Saturdays, we saw some improvements but also mistakes we continue to repeat that need to be remedied.” Five Bulldogs placed in the top three of their weight classes, and four of those made the finals. Lucas Oldenkamp started the finals off in grand fashion by getting a 17-0 win over the wrestler who beat him in the Emmetsburg finals last year. Hayden Helgeson kept the momentum going by cruising in a 14-0 victory to capture his first tournament title of the season. Two weights later, Steve Brandenburg collected an 8-4 win to make it three champions on the day for the team. Wyatt Hanna was the last finalist but fell to a highly ranked wrestler from LeMars. “Having three champions in a thirteen team field is a nice accomplishment for any team,” Brandenburg said. “Hopefully all our kids learned a lot today about what they are currently doing well and what they need to get better at.”
Team Standings: Spencer 216.5, LeMars 190, Estherville LC 177.5, Emmetsburg 177, Lake Mills 169.5, Eagle Grove 161.5, Pocahontas Area 155.5, Okoboji 141, Storm Lake 94, Forest City 92.5, West Bend-Mallard 46, St. Edmond 44, Spirit Lake Park 43.
Finals: 106- Lucas Oldenkamp (LM) tech. fall Austin Hansen (ELC), 17-0. 113- Gabe Cauthron (Sp) dec. Mack Morgan (EG), 4-2 ot. 120- Kaden Pritchard (EG) maj. dec. Braxton Johnson (ELC), 16-6. 126- Hayden Helgeson (LM) maj. dec. Dylan Jones (O), 14-0. 132- Layton Yager (ELC) dec. Wyatt Heying (Sp), 6-4 ot. 138- Steve Brandenburg (LM) dec. Connor Christopher (EG), 8-4. 145- Ryan Brennan (Em) pinned Dustin Dawson (EG), :57. 152- Kade Johnson (Sp) pinned Matt Vondrak (LeM), 5:04. 160- Noah Stranz (O) dec. Justin Wirtz (Em), 5-3. 170- Kellen Moore (FC) dec. Jace Nelson-Brown (Em), 3-1. 182- Deontez Williams (PA) pinned Gabe Poolman (SLP), 3:08. 195- Ben Saxton (Em) pinned Camden Feuerhelm (LeM), 5:11. 220- Ayden Hoag (LeM) maj. dec. Wyatt Hanna (LM), 17-6. 285- Logan Huckfelt (Sp) pinned Aiden Phillips (StL), 3:03.
Other Lake Mills finishes: 3rd: Royce Peterson (120); 5th: Garrett Ham (160); 6th: Geraldo Vazquez (113), Carter Helgeson (126); 7th: Beau Kaufman (170); 8th: Justin Rygh (145); Dnp: Carter Christianson (132), Austin Stene (152), Joe Young (182), Ethan Lawson (195).