WASHINGTON – Each year, National Farmers Union (NFU) is proud to recognize U.S. Senators and members of Congress who demonstrate leadership and support at the federal policymaking level for family farmers, ranchers and their rural communities.


The Golden Triangle Award, the family farm organization’s highest legislative honor, was presented to each recipient this week during NFU’s Fall Legislative Fly-In. Five elected officials from Minnesota received the award, including both U.S. Senators – Amy Klobuchar and Tina Smith.


“These are tough times in farm country. Senator Klobuchar and Senator Smith have had the backs of family farmers for years, supporting the farm safety net, smart trade policy and biofuels,” said Minnesota Farmers Union President Gary Wertish. “We’re proud to present them with NFU’s Golden Triangle award to recognize them for their work on the Senate Agriculture Committee.”

The Golden Triangle, first presented in 1988, symbolizes the core principles of the Farmers Union organization: education, cooperation and legislation. Twenty-six elected officials in total received the award this year.


“The Golden Triangle Award recognizes farm and food champions in Congress that display outstanding leadership on the issues that are important to both our industry and our organization. We’re appreciative of their insight and devotion to securing the nation’s food supply for the good of both American family farmers and consumers,” said NFU President Roger Johnson.