Albert Lea and Lake Mills Wrestling both in action on Tuesday night
Story from Albert Lea Head Coach Tyler Vogt
Here are the results from our Tri against Mankato East and Rochester Mayo
Albert Lea defeated Rochester Mayo 40-31
106 Ryan Collins (Albert Lea) over Andrew Trimble (Rochester Mayo) by Fall
113 Michael Olson (Albert Lea) over Juan Cobarruvias (Rochester Mayo) by Technical Fall 21-5
120 Aivin Wasmoen (Albert Lea) over Adam Buenger (Rochester Mayo) by Major Decision 14-2
126 Logan Davis (Albert Lea) over Max Erickson (Rochester Mayo) by Fall
132 Brody Ignaszewski (Albert Lea) received a forfeit
138 Nick Korman (Albert Lea) over Kellen Burger (Rochester Mayo) by Major Decision 16-4
145 Calder Sheehan (Rochester Mayo) over Jace Houston (Albert Lea) by Fall
152 Mavrick Attig (Albert Lea) over Kamden Ernste (Rochester Mayo) by Decision 4-1
160 Mason Attig (Albert Lea) over Carter Funk (Rochester Mayo) by Fall
170 Logan Burger (Rochester Mayo) over Teaghen Tolbers (Albert Lea) by Fall
182 Dylan Peper (Rochester Mayo) over Kadin Indrelie (Albert Lea) by Decision 11-5
195 Lucas Peterson (Rochester Mayo) over Evan Schroeder (Albert Lea) by Major Decision 12-0
220 Ethan Peper (Rochester Mayo) received a forfeit
285 Caleb Loomis (Rochester Mayo) over Ben Schwemmler (Albert Lea) by Fall
Albert Lea defeated Mankato East 48-22
106 Ryan Collins (Albert Lea) over Jackson Stensrud (Mankato East) by Major Decision 14-2
113 Michael Olson (Albert Lea) over Jackson Buboltz (Mankato East) by Fall
120 Aivin Wasmoen (Albert Lea) received a Forfeit
126 Logan Davis (Albert Lea) received a forfeit
132 Brody Ignaszewski (Albert Lea) received a forfeit
138 Nick Korman (Albert Lea) over Bennett Blom (Mankato East) by Technical Fall 18-3
145 Luke Scholtes (Mankato East) over Jace Houston (Albert Lea) by Fall
152 Ben Glogoski (Mankato East) over Estabon Mixteco (Albert Lea) by Fall
160 Elliot Betz (Mankato East) over Mavrick Attig (Albert Lea) bey Decision 6-3
170 Max Morgan (Mankato East) over Mason Attig (Albert Lea) by Decision 9-3
182 Brian Thilges (Mankato East) over Kadin Indrelie (Albert Lea) by Major Decision 12-0
195 Evan Schroeder (Albert Lea) received a forfeit
220 Patrick Holcomb (Albert Lea) over Xavier Roberts (Mankato East) by Decision 7-2
285 Ben Schwemmler (Albert Lea) received a forfeit
That puts us at 6-0 in the Big 9 Conference
Next time we wrestle will be this Thursday as we head up to Coon Rapids for a Tri with them and Champlin Park
Wrestlers Split Home Triangular
Story by Head Coach Alex Brandenburg
Lake Mills played host to the wrestling squads from Algona and Rockford Tuesday night. Algona, who is ranked in class 2A, came in and took control of the dual early, leading 27-0. They never looked back and won the battle of the Bulldogs, 51-24. “Algona has a very good team, and we knew it would be very hard to beat them,” said Coach Alex Brandenburg. “That being said, we had some matches we could have won and made the dual much closer.” The other dual was against Rockford, and Lake Mills won easily, 72-12. After the night of wrestling, the 11th-ranked squad has a dual record of 21-4 on the season. “We are nearing the end of the season,” Brandenburg said. “Regional duals are coming up quickly, and we need to make some improvements if we want to have a shot at State Duals.”
Algona 51, Lake Mills 24
132- Taevyn Zinnel (A) pinned Carter Christianson, 1:49. 138- Tate Slagle (A) pinned Justin Rygh, 4:18. 145- Ashton Moreno (A) pinned Isaiah Torres, 2:30. 152- Ian Fehr (A) dec. Austin Stene, 6-1. 160- Colby Jennings (A) pinned Josiah Kjeldahl, 1:45. 170- Garrett Ham (L) pinned Wes Streit, :51. 182- Beau Kaufman (L) pinned Foster Myhre, 3:00. 195- Gavin Goche (A) pinned Ethan Lawson, 4:38. 220- Chase Roof (A) pinned Andrew Grunhovd, 3:23. 285- Wyatt Hanna (L) pinned Hunter Kollasch, 5:39. 106- Lucas Oldenkamp (L) pinned Elijah Wilhite, 1:28. 113- Jacob Zabka (A) maj. dec. Geraldo Vazquez, 13-2.120- Isaac Wilson (A) dec. Hayden Helgeson, 7-2. 126- Barrett Morgan (A) tech. fall Royce Peterson, 19-4.
Lake Mills 72, Rockford 12
138- Rygh (L) pinned Payton Malchow, 3:50. 145- Cody Cox (L) won by forfeit. 152- Stene (L) won by forfeit. 160- Ham (L) pinned Brekken Schlader, :40. 170- Kjeldahl (L) won by forfeit. 182- Joe Koehler (R) pinned Kaufman, 1:03. 195- Grunhovd (L) won by forfeit. 220- Hanna (L) pinned Zack Pearce, 3:53. 285- Mason Gaetzke (L) won by forfeit. 106- Oldenkamp (L) won by forfeit. 113- Vazquez (L) won by forfeit. 120- Helgeson (L) won by forfeit. 126- Peterson (L) won by forfeit. 132- Alex Baltes (R) pinned Christianson, 3:40.